Ah, Jersey

2 Feb

Today is the day.  I’ve been packing, cheering, studying, worrying, sweating, networking, interwebs-searching, excitedly anticipating, and fundraising for this day for a while now.  It’s the day I embark on my most epic of adventures thus far: to serve as a Kiva Fellow in Yaoundé, Cameroon.

But during all this time of daydreaming what I will see when stepping off of the plane in Cameroon, its new and foreign culture, I neglected to appreciate the other two cultures I would experience first: New Jersey and Brussels.  Immediately upon landing in Newark at 6:00am local time this morning, the flight attendant greeted us over the intercom.  It wasn’t until I heard her delicious accent that it dawned on me: holy crap!  I’m in Jersey!

This is what came to mind (forgive the terrible quality):

Do you guys remember when SNL was actually cool?  When Dana Carvey preached his Church Lady preachings and Chris Farley wooed us with his humility?  I certainly do.  Maybe it wasn’t ever really cool…. but I was dorky enough not to care.

Anyhow, my day hanging out in the Newark airport was less than exciting, so I’ll only remark on two things.

  1. New Jersey tap water is really tasty.
  2. To the woman who was smoking in the last Terminal C bathroom: shame on you.

Next stop- Brussels!

4 Responses to “Ah, Jersey”

  1. vlapingLanden February 13, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    Yay New Jersey! Our tap water is some of the best in the country. :) And agreed, I love that SNL sketch. Keep up the very insightful postings, Natalie!

    • natalie February 15, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      oh dang, i forgot that you’re a Jersey Girl! Is it weird I’m looking forward to my Newark layover in June? hahaha

  2. Micaela Lillard Browning February 13, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    My favorite SNL skit ever. “Bronx Beat” doesn’t hold a candle.

    • natalie February 15, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      hahahaha. I almost forgot about that one!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

